Part 23 (1/2)
Hidden Information (Informal)
Some information within a Magic game isn't known by all players. For example, face-down cards in any zone and the contents of players' libraries and hands are hidden information. If an effect ”reveals” a card that's normally hidden, the card is public information as long as it remains revealed. See also Public Information.
Horsemans.h.i.+p
Horsemans.h.i.+p is an evasion ability. A creature with horsemans.h.i.+p can't be blocked by creatures without horsemans.h.i.+p. A creature with horsemans.h.i.+p can block a creature with or without horsemans.h.i.+p. See rule 502.17, ”Horsemans.h.i.+p.”
Hybrid Mana Symbols
Each of the hybrid mana symbols represents a cost which can be paid with one of two colors: {W/U} in a cost can be paid with either white or blue mana, {W/B} white or black, {U/B} blue or black, {U/R} blue or red, {B/R} black or red, {B/G} black or green, {R/G} red or green, {R/W} red or white, {G/W} green or white, and {G/U} green or blue. (A previous version of these rules referred to hybrid mana symbols as half-half mana symbols.)
If
See ”Intervening 'If' Clause.”
Illegal Action
If a player realizes that he or she can't legally take an action after starting to do so, the entire action is reversed and any payments already made are canceled. No abilities trigger and no effects apply as a result of an undone action. When reversing illegal spells and abilities, the player who had priority retains it and may take another action or pa.s.s. The player may redo the reversed action in a legal way or take any other action allowed by the rules. See rule 422, ”Handling Illegal Actions.”
Illegal Target
If a spell or ability specifies targets, it checks whether the targets are legal when it resolves. A target that's removed from play, or from the zone designated by the spell or ability, is illegal. A target may also become illegal if its characteristics changed since the spell or ability was played or if an effect changed the text of the spell. See rule 413.2a.
Ill.u.s.tration
The ill.u.s.tration is printed on the upper half of a card and has no game significance. See rule 204, ”Ill.u.s.tration.”
Ill.u.s.tration Credit
The ill.u.s.tration credit for a card is printed directly below the text box. The credit has no effect on game play. See rule 209, ”Ill.u.s.tration Credit.”
Imprint
Imprint is an activated or triggered ability, written ”Imprint [text],” where ”[text]” is an activated or triggered ability. Cards that are in the removed-from-the-game zone because they were removed from the game by an imprint ability are imprinted on the source of that ability. See rule 502.34, ”Imprint.”